Good YA Books

As you will learn, I am a MAJOR bookworm. Not only do I struggle resisting to buy every book I see, I also spend much of my spare time reading and searching for the newest exciting novel. Here I have compiled a list of 5 YA books and series that I think you should give a try and read. I know not all of these books are for everyone, as various people like various types of books, but I really enjoy these following books and think you might too!

Looking for Alaska by John Green 

images
thebookphotoblog.tumblr

I’m starting this list off with Looking for Alaska, a book that happens to be one of my two favorite books of all time (spoiler alert: my second favorite book will also appear on this list). Looking for Alaska revolves around the main character, Miles “Pudge” Halter, and his life after starting to attend a new school. While at the new school, Miles meets a girl who will forever change his life, Alaska Young. Alaska ends up bringing Miles into her crazy life and adventure, as well as some mystery, follows.

Looking for Alaska is a great read for anyone who enjoys humor, drama, adventure, and mystery. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read. This book does, however, include sexual situations, drug/alcohol use,  and strong language, so if you’re sensitive to those things I’d recommend taking precautions before reading this book. If you enjoy this book I’d also recommend checking out some of John Green’s other novels, including Paper Towns, The Fault in our Stars, and An Abundance of Katherines.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

 

tumblr_n708qoshyk1te4uzuo1_1280
quotegram.com

 

The second book on the list is Eleanor & Park. Eleanor & Park features two teenagers who don’t fit in and are having various struggles in their lives. Eleanor, a redhead who is a bit overweight and never has the right clothes or accessories to fit in, struggles with issues at home. Park, a nerdy teen, has some slight school issues. The two eventually end up meeting and falling into an extraordinary love.

This book is an amazing read for anyone looking for a great novel that balances love, drama, and humor perfectly. Like the last one, this book does, however, include some adult language and sexual situations. If you enjoy this book I highly recommend checking out some of Rainbow Rowell’s other novels, such as Fangirl.

The Maze Runner (series) by James Dashner

The third book listed is actually part of a series, that series being The Maze Runner Series, a futuristic story that has now actually been adapted into a movie series. The Maze Runner follows the character of Thomas, a boy who has mysteriously arrived in the Glade without any memories of his past. While being trapped in the Glade, Thomas discovers that the

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset
onelesslonleyblog.com

only way out is through a maze – a maze that no one has ever gotten through without dying.Thomas faces many dangerous challenges and finds out many new messages and secrets about his past, especially when a girl arrives in the Glade.

 

The Maze Runner series is great to read if you’re looking for an exciting, fast-paced, action-packed series that will keep you on your feet. If you enjoy The Maze Runner  book series I also highly recommend checking out the movies.

The Selection (series) by Kiera Cass

tumblr_o35tpm4y9x1sef3m4o9_1280
tumbnation.com

The next book series listed is one of my all-time favorite series. The first few books of The Selection series revolve around America Singer, a young girl living in what formerly was America. America was chosen in ‘the Selection’, a competition in which thirty-five girls are chosen to live in the castle and compete for Prince Maxon’s love and hand-in-marriage. America, however, already has a boyfriend named Aspen who lives back in her hometown. When America meets Maxon, her whole life is changed and she is faced with confused emotions. Will America choose Aspen or Maxon, or will she choose neither and live a life she never imagined?

 

The Selection is an amazing read full of drama, love, and unexpected events. When I first heard of The Selection series I wasn’t that excited, as I generally am not into novels that are extremely girly and princessey, but I was definitely pleasantly surprised when reading these books. The fifth book of this series also came out just last week. Although I have yet to read it, I will soon and will also most likely be posting a review on how I liked the book.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my two favorite books (*cough cough* I mentioned

cbc382c76b869180805415b1b0b396de
pinterest.com

earlier on in this post that my second fave would be talked about later  about later *cough cough*) of all-time. The Perks of Being a Wallflower revolves around the character of Charlie, a freshman who is just starting high school. Charlie has always been a wallflower, someone who is shy, intelligent, and keeps quiet. When he meets some new people at his high school, however, he experiences the glory that is friendship, sex, high school drama, parties, drugs, and of course, The Rocky Horror Show.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an amazing read. The book is very relatable to most teens and can easily connect to most people in at least some way. If you like the book I would also recommend watching the movie adaption. Although some parts in the The Perks of Being a Wallflower movie are different from the book, I think it’s one of the best book-to-movies adaptions out there.

I hope you enjoy these 5 book recommendations. If you have any more recommendations that you’d like me to see, feel free to comment them below 🙂

-Maddie

 

*The header image of this post was found on thewriteteachers.com. All of the other pictures are credited above.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on theardentliterate and commented:

    Here is a post that I originally published on my original blog (nomdeplume). I am now reposting it here (on theardentliterate) because it goes better with the theme of this blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

