More Good YA Books

Last week I made a list of 5 YA books/ series I think everyone should read (you can check out that list Here) Since making that list, I thought of 5 more amazing books that I think you’d enjoy! Here’s the list:

 

Shatter Me (Series) by Tahereh Mafi

The first book series on this list is the Shatter Me series. I read this series about a year ago and remember flying through it, finishing the first book in about three or four hours at most. Shatter Me revolves around a 17-year-old named Juliette. Juliette has this strange issue where her touch is fatal, meaning she can seriously injure, and even kill, people just by touching them. Because of this, she accidentally killed someone a few years before the

shatter-me-series
staybookish.net

story takes place and has been locked up because of it. As she is locked in a cell at a sort of mental institution, she notices the world around her is metaphorically crumbing. Birds don’t fly anymore, natural resources have run out, the air is foggy, the clouds aren’t white anymore, and everything is over all just wrong. Juliette begins noticing all of the problems in the world and realizes that she could maybe help change it all. She realizes that she can either be a dangerous problem, or possibly the solution to society.

Shatter Me is a great read. It’s very much a futuristic dystopian novel, so if you enjoyed series such as Divergent, The Hunger Games, and The Maze Runner, I really think you’d like this series. I found this book series to be a very fast read. Although it is the length of a regular YA novel, the books goes by and moves very quickly.  Another interesting feature this book has is the fact that words are often crossed out in the novel. In the society which Juliette is living, she is kind of forced to monitor her thoughts. In the book her thoughts are crossed out and replaced by words society forces her and wants her to think. This series is a great read and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys futuristic and dystopian novels.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The second book on this list is All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. As you may know, I did a complete review on this book a couple of days ago (you can check that out Here). I personally found this novel incredible. The story can be quite sad at some parts, but it is still a very good book. All the Bright Places revolves around two teenagers names Theodore Finch and Violet Markey. After Finch saves Violet’s life, the two of them being working on a school project together and get to know each other more. It is revealed that both of the tumblr_nlbmagcmci1sjcyb1o1_1280teenagers have many struggles in their lives and challenges that they have to work through. They begin hanging out more and more and, although Violet’s life begins getting better and her happiness increases, the opposite happens for Finch.

This book is an amazing novel. I legitimately flew through this book and enjoyed it thoroughly. This book was very much an emotional roller coaster, as there were moment when I was laughing my ass off, engulfed in deep suspense, and crying like a baby. All the Bright Places is a book that I would definitely recommend to anyone. It is the same genre as such books like The Fault in our Stars and Eleanor and Park, so if you have read or enjoyed either of those, I think you’d like this book to. This book does contain some drug/alcohol use, sexual situations, and swearing, as well as some suicide and depression triggers. I would highly recommend this book to anyone and think you should all check it out.

Anna and the French Kiss ( series) by Stephanie Perkins

The third book series on this list is Anna and the French Kiss. The first novel in this series is about the character of Anna, a girl who is shipped off to boarding school, despite her tumblr_nq83r0wxil1thz79do1_1280wanting to stay in Atlanta to finish her senior year of high school. While in Paris, Anna meets Étienne St. Clair, a perfect boy who has everything, including a girlfriend. Will Anna’s dream of getting kissed in Paris come true?

This book is a very good read that I would recommend to anyone. The other two books in the series (Lola and the Boy Next Door and  Isla and the Happily Ever After) are also amazing and worth reading. Anna and the French Kiss is a very cute and romantic story that I think you would all enjoy. Although it can be quite cheesy in some parts, it’s still a very good and well-written book that I think you should all give a try and read.

The Lunar Chronicles (series) by Marissa Meyer

The next series in this list is The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. The Lunar Chronicles contains a very interesting and unique concept that I’ve never read in any other book before. Each book in the series features around a different classic fairy-tale or story, only

lunar
csquaredcriticis.wordpress.com

turned futuristic. For example, the first book in the series, Cinder, retells the classic cinderella story, only instead of being an orphaned human, Cinder is a robot taken in by her step-mother. The Lunar Chronicles include both suspense and some slight violence/action, as well as, of course, the futuristic and dystopian society.

The Lunar Chronicles is a very unique, yet amazing, series that takes a futuristic twist on the classic children’s tales that we all know and love. I was quite reluctant to buy this series, as I had very mixed feeling when thinking about the idea of Cinderella, Little Red-Riding Hood, Snow White, and more, only with a futuristic twist. Much to my enjoyment, I ended up really enjoying and loving this series. I’m glad that I bought it and am even trying to get my friends to read it too. I really love this series and really think you should read it.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (series) by Jenny Han

The final book series on this list is To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. This book features the character of Lara Jean, a girl who has always been too shy to admit her crushes to anyone, but has instead wrote down letters to the boys and sealed them in a box. When the box is found and the letters have been mysteriously mailed, all of the boys learn about her past, and sometimes still current, crushes on them. The boys begin confronting her and asking her about these letters. Although the situation seems like a nightmare to Laratumblr_ntphcron8z1u7oyt2o1_500 at first, some good things might actually begin coming her way.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a very well-written and cute book, although the ending is a bit disappointing. The second novel of the series ( P.S I Still Love You) is luckily very good as well and perfectly continues the story from the first book. I really enjoyed these books, which isn’t really that surprising considering I’m a huge sucker to romance, and I recommend them to you all. I really think everyone, including you, should read these two books.

 

I really hope you enjoyed this list of 5 More Ya Books I Think Everyone Should Read. Although I enjoyed these books and series, I am aware that everyone has different tastes in books and enjoys different things. Although I loved these series, I’m obviously aware that everyone is different and you may not. That being said, I hope you give these books a try and end up enjoying them. I hope you enjoyed this post; thanks for reading!
-Maddie

One Comment Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on theardentliterate and commented:

    Here is a post that I originally published on my original blog (nomdeplume). I am now reposting it here (on theardentliterate) because it goes better with the theme of this blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

