Broadway Musicals

Little Shop of Horrors

For the first broadway musical on my list, I decided to start off with one of my favorites. Little Shop of Horrors was originally a horror film made in the 60’s, but has since become a second movie (that was made in the 80s and featured Rick Moranis, Ellen Greene, and Steve Martin) and, obviously, a broadway musical. I have always been a fan of the musical, which I may be a bit biased to considering I was part of the production at my high school, and have the soundtrack on my phone, that I embarrassingly listen to daily.

Little Shop of Horrors revolves around Seymour Krelborn, a guy who finds a mysterious plant that only thrives off of human flesh and blood. He names the plant Audrey II, after his co-tumblr_o0lul9whsb1v2nlm7o1_500worker Audrey whom he has a crush on. Seymour begins getting immense fame and attention because of the plant and eventually feels pressured into finding people to kill and feed to the plant. While all of this is going on, Seymour tries to win over Audrey, a girl who is already in a relationship with a sadistic dentist named Orin Scrivello. As Seymour begins running out of people to find and kill for Audrey II, he struggles with trying to figure out whether or not he should continue his streak of murdering for his plant, or give up the plant and hope Audrey still loves him without the fame.

Little Shop of Horrors is an amazing and well-written play that features very catchy songs. I’ve been in love with this musical, as well as the movie, for a long time and would see it an unlimited amount of times if I could. I highly recommend this musical to everyone and think you should all check it out if you get the chance.

Hamilton

The second musical on this list is Hamilton. Hamilton is a newer musical when compared to a lot of the other musicals on this list and has just recently hit mainstream. This year Hamilton has made history with being up for a record breaking 16 nominations.

Hamilton was written by Lin-Manuel Miranda, who also plays the lead role in the musical. The play is about Alexander Hamilton, one of the Founding Fathers of America. Hamilton 0990fea1-c876-4c27-57bf68dfd2a0c0e0not only covers many history topics and stories, but also includes hip-hop and rap-esque music, unlike really any other Broadway play that has ever been out there before. The musical has been praised for the fact that it not only includes a new genre that hasn’t really ever been shown on Broadway before, but it also covers important stories of America’s history.

I am personally a huge fan of Hamilton. A few of my friends have been obsessed with this musical and have fangirled about it for a long time, but it wasn’t until they made me listen to it that I got the hype. Hamilton is truly a unique work of art that deserves all of the praise and attention that it’s getting. I highly recommend Hamilton to everyone and I think you’ll have a pleasant experience if you choose to check it out.

The Phantom of the Opera

The third show on my list is a classic Broadway musical, as well as now a movie. The Phantom of the Opera has certainly had great hype over the years, hype that, in my opinion, is well deserved and earned.

The Phantom of the Opera follows a young girl named Christine Daae who has spent much of her life singing in the theater. After spending years of listening to Christine and making her belief he is the angel of music, a man named Erik, who disguises himself in a sort-of Phantom-esque attire, makes plans to get closer to Christine and get her to fall in love 2with him. Against the Phantom’s plans, Christine is reunited with her childhood friend and sweetheart, Raoul , who is now a benefactor at the theater where she performs. Christine and Raoul reunite and begin falling back in love, something that the Phantom is not keen on.

The Phantom of the Opera was the musical that sparked my love for theater. I can’t count the ammount of times that I’ve watched this musical and listened to the soundtrack. I also forced my friend, someone who used to not be a fan of theatre, to watch this musical and her theater obsession started as well. The Phantom of the Opera is an amazing musical that you should all watch.

Les Miserables

The fourth performance on this list is one of the most beloved and classic Broadway stories- Les Miserables. I’m sure some of you know what the Les MIserables is about, but incase you don’t, here’s my summary:

Les MIserables revolves around the character Jean Valjean, a man who has been arrested and become a prisoner due to stealing a loaf of bread for his starving sister, long ago. After Valjean breaks parole, he reinvented himself as a mayor and factory owner, all while a-scene-from-les-miserables-photo-by-matthew-murphyJavert, a prison workforce officer, has vowed to himself to find Valjean and arrest him yet again. During his time as mayor, Valjean comes across a dying mother and promises that he will take care of her daughter, Cosette. While all of this is happening, war is going on which results to many of the young boys going into battle and fighting for their freedom. Les Miserables is a classic Broadway play and novel that is worth all of the fame and attention it has gotten.

Growing up, I was practically bred and raised to love Les Miserables. My parents are both massive theater nerd, especially my mother who has seen this play a countless amount of times. During my childhood, when ever my family would take a road trip, we’d have the Les Mis soundtrack blaring the entire time. I definitely recommend Les Miserables to everyone and think you should all certainly give it a try.

Avenue Q

The last musical on this list is the controversial, yet wonderful, Avenue Q. For those of you unaware of what Avenue Q is, think a raunchier version of sesame street. Despite the controversy and the fact that Avenue Q was ranked as one of the most controversial Broadway musicals of all time, it’s still an amazing play that I think you should all check out.

Avenue Q revolves around the character of Princeton, a recent college graduate who has moved into the shabby neighborhood that is Avenue Q. While living on Avenue Q, Princeton meets tons of new people, including Nicky and Rod (who are kind of like the gay Bert and Ernie), Brian, Christmas Eve,  Trekkie Monster (think of a more perverted Cookie Monster), Lucy T. Slut, Gary Coleman, the superintendent, and, of course, Kate Monster, a 826-4teacher who soons becomes a love interest for Princeton. After everyone gets around to talking, they all realize that they almost all have one thing in common- they don’t know what their purpose is. While they all struggle to look for their calling and find out what they’re meant to do with their life, they end up going through some personal struggles and luckily, with the help of their friends on Avenue Q, end up finding solutions to their problems.

Avenue Q is by far one of my favorite broadway musicals of all time. The songs are unbelievably catchy and, seeing that they’re almost all parodies of classic Sesame Street characters, the characters in this play are all hilariously amazing. This play does cover some controversial subjects, but as long as you’re mature enough to handle them, I would highly recommend this play to you. If you do not want to see the original, raunchy Broadway version, many high schools and community theaters are currently putting on a ‘Safe for School’ edition, which is also definitely worth checking out.

 

I hope you enjoyed this list of 5 Broadway Shows you need to checkout. As you will probably learn, I am a huge theater-geek and have a passion for everything broadway related. I hope you choose to check out some of these shows. Thanks for reading!
-Maddie

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Cristina says:

    Hi Maddie, I never been to a musical, but has been on my to do list for a while now : ) I’m in London. You mention two that are on top of my list: The Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables. Thank you for the suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you’d love both of those musicals. They’re two of the best musicals of all-time in my opinion. I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Thank you very much for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. From this list, I also love Phantom of the Opera and Les Miserables. My school is doing Little Shop of Horrors in February this year. I am this kind of musical fanatic and it was Wicked that sparked my love for musicals

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am a musical fanatic. It was Wicked that sparked my love for musicals when I saw the show on Broadway in 2006. Soon my love for musicals would became kind of an obsession after becoming obsessed with Les Mis after watching the movie for the first. I did get to see Les Mis in the West End two years ago with my mom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

