Me And Earl And The Dying Girl

*This is a spoiler-free review when talking about both the book and the movie. Nothing included in this review is anything other than what you would see when watching the trailer or reading the back of the novel*

For this review I’m going to be discussing the book, movie, and similarities between the two for Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. Here we go:

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a novel that was written by Jesse Andrews. The book was published in 2012 and takes place around the same time era. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl revolves around the character of Greg, a senior in high school who is writing this book as an autobiography of his life. In the book, he talks about Earl, his only friend, who he just refers to as a co-worker. Greg and Earl make films together, both having very similar interests in old-fashioned movies. Greg doesn’t have any friend, except for Earl, and has mastered High School. He has worked out a system where he is acquaintances with people in every social group, but does not belong to just one, not allowing any drama to occur.

When Greg’s mother tells him, a very introverted person, that his former friend and middle school ex-girlfriend, Rachel, has cancer, she forces him to hang out with her. He, of course, hates the idea at first and dreads seeing Rachel, but he eventually stops disliking the idea of hanging out with a dying girl every day after school. This book does contain some sad and touchy topics, but in my opinion, as well as everybody else I know who has read this book, I think it is far more humorous than sad. This book contains lots of teenage humor and is very well written. Even though a dying girl is one of the main topics of this book, the humor by far outweighs the sadness and drama, making it a fun novel to read.

The movie adaption of this book was very well made and was clearly a good film. I, as someone who has read the book, however, wasn’t the biggest of fans. I know a lot of people who have seen this movie- some who have not read the book, as well as some who have. The people who have not read the book loved and praised this movie, saying how wellmade it was. The people I know who have read the book, including myself, think it’s a good movie, but not nearly as good as the book. I personally thought this movie was very good, but compared to the book, it was just mediocre. The book was phenomenally written and nothing can compare to it in my opinion.

I highly recommend both the book and the movie to everyone. They are both extremely well made and I know many people who are fans of both. As stated above, I wasn’t as big of a fan of the m0vie after having read the book, but I still thought it was a good film. I hope you choose to check out either the movie or the book, or possibly even both, and enjoy them. Thanks for reading!

-Maddie

One Comment Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on theardentliterate and commented:

    Here is a post that I originally published on my original blog (nomdeplume). I am now reposting it here (on theardentliterate) because it goes better with the theme of this blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

